2012 Pewter Holiday OrnamentAdd to Wishlist
This pewter ornament celebrates Gordy Hall's 100th anniversary!
- Handcrafted in the USA
- Measures 2" x 1.5"
- Designed on both sides
- Made of High-Grade Pewter
The building that is known today as Gordy Hall, was erected at the corner of Park Place and University Terrace in 1912. Designed by Midwest architect Frank L. Packard, and costing $52,000, the building included grade-school classroom spaces to provide the University’s student teachers with practical training experience within its expanding State Normal school. Housed in the basement of Ewing Hall, the Normal School had originally consisted of only three grades. But the construction of the new facility allowed expansion to eight grades and a kindergarten.
Until 1970, the building had not been given a formal name. Assigned to the task of naming the building, Philosophy Professor George A. Weckman and Philosophy Department Chairman Robert Wieman appropriately suggested that the building should be named in honor of Ohio University Professor John Pancoast Gordy. This was a tribute to Professor Gordy having been Ohio University’s first professor of philosophy and pedagogy---academic areas within the university which had been housed in the building that was to bear his name.